When troubleshooting a Wi-Fi connection in Windows 11, it might be beneficial to erase or remove saved Wi-Fi network settings and start over. Or perhaps you no longer want your PC to connect to a certain hotspot. Fortunately, it’s simple to “forget” a Wi-Fi network with a few mouse clicks. This is how.
How to Remove a Known Network from Quick Settings
It’s easy to overlook a nearby Wi-Fi network while utilizing the Quick Settings menu.
The Quick Settings menu will show a list of Wi-Fi access points, with the one you’re presently connected to (if any) at the top.
Windows 11 will forget the Wi-Fi network, erasing all previously saved settings for that access point. If it was the default Wi-Fi access point earlier, your PC will no longer attempt to connect to it automatically.
If you wish to rejoin a network you’ve forgotten about, click the “Connect” button next to the name of the Wi-Fi network in the list, enter the password, and you’ll be back online.
How to Forget a Known Network in Settings
You may now remove saved Wi-Fi networks in the Windows 11 Settings app. This allows you to forget a Wi-Fi network even if you are not in its current range.
Windows will remove the network, and you’ll be good to go. Close Settings and you may continue to use your computer as usual.