1Password has introduced a new feature that allows users of its password manager to share virtually anything from their 1Password vault with others even if they don’t use the service themselves.
The company’s new tool is called Psst! which stands for Password secure sharing tool and it allows users to generate shareable links from its software’s share menu. By default, these links expire in seven days but you can also choose to let them expire after 30 days, 14 days, one day, one hour or after a single person views them.
1Password users also have the option to let anyone with a link view an item in their vault or they can restrict sharing to only the people whose email addresses they’ve specified. When a user selects the “Get link to share” option in the company’s password manager, they can send the link directly or through any channel they choose. This feature also allows them to share links directly through their operating system’s built-in share menu.
It’s worth noting that when using Psst!, 1Password users aren’t sharing an original item but a shared copy that is more like a snapshot of the item as it existed when it was shared. This means if you share a password with a contractor or guest, they can only view the item as it existed when shared. If it’s changed afterwards, recipients won’t be able to see the updated item, only the original copy.